Who Is Ryota Igarashi?

I hate to write about the Mets as I try to keep my personal opinions away from here, but the way I look at it is my blog wouldn’t be my blog if I didn’t throw in my personal opinions right?

With that being said, I wake up this morning and throw on the radio and hear the name Ryota Igarashi. At first I think to myself, the morning show guys are making some name up. As I continue to listen, it turns out the Mets are making a serious run at this guy who has played in Japan since 1999. Primarily he has pitched as middle relief guy in recent history. With K-Rod in the bullpen, its clear as day that he will continue to do this for the Mets as well.

Ryota is known for throwing the fastest pitch ever by a Japanese player which was clocked at just under 100 mph. He has over 600 strikeouts in his career, but he is also known to walk a lot of batters. Obviously this is nothing to go crazy about. As a Met I really hope Omar has something else up his sleeve otherwise Citi Field will be a very lonely place to play this year!
2009 Stats:
Wins: 3
Losses:: 2
ERA: 3.19 (in 56 games)

Photobucket

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Who Is Ryota Igarashi?”

  1. Who Is Ryota Igarashi? - Blowout Cards Forums Says:

    […] be a very lonely place to play this year! 2009 Stats: Wins: 3 Losses:: 2 ERA: 3.19 (in 56 games) Who Is Ryota Igarashi? Extra Innings – When 9 Isn’t Enough! __________________ Shop for Sports Cards and Trading […]

  2. Paul Says:

    I saw a clip of him pitching on Youtube yesterday. I hope the Mets do sign him; I think he’d be fun to root for.

Leave a Reply

