2010 Heritage Case Breaks!

Well I finally found my way out of the basement of my house! Pretty much spent most of my day thursday, friday and sunday down there getting through multiple cases of 2010 Topps Heritage and 2010 Opening Day! Its always a blast and I am lucky to have some help in the form of my wife and my oldest daughter. I have pondered hiring help to sort cards out and I may just do that for the 2010 Bowman releases and Topps Series 2 releases (more to come on that in another post). Apologies for not updating our blog as well – the juggling of ripping cases, orders, a FT job and family sometimes puts this blog on the backburner!

But let’s get to the good stuff. Heritage was yet again a very nice product! Cases were hit and miss but overall are a thrill to open..I was lucky enough to break four! The one thing that I did not like about the Heritage release and it was probably the only thing I didn’t like was the Stamp inserts. These are short printed but I don’t see them holding any value. The look doesn’t appeal to me and it looks like Topps inserted them as pulls.
The Real One autos were back and again these were hit and miss. I was lucky enough to pull an Al Rosen Real One Blue Auto which is one of the better names as well as a Bob Gibson Flashback auto.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Then there is the ever growing trend in my personal breaks regarding Cardinals karma. It is truly amazing how many big Cardinal pulls I have had in the last couple of months (seperate blog post to follow on that). 2010 Heritage yielded a Matt Holliday / Red Schoendienst dual GU bat and auto #d to 10 and a Red Schoendienst GU auto and jersey #d to 25!

Photobucket
Photobucket

In addition to the above I pulled a Mickey Mantle seat relic although I have never figured how these seat relics are relevant?? But hey people like them!
Photobucket

It was nice of Topps to include another insert set – Babe Ruth’s chase in 61. I personally enjoy insert sets of Mantle, Ruth or any legendary players. All in all this makes the typical master set 560 cards strong!
The orioginal vintage buybacks have returned and in the 3 years I have ripped this product I have yet tp pull out a big name vintage card….do they exist???
The SPS this year had a lighter color back than the regular cards. A definite plus when sorting cards…thanks to Topps for this! This year’s SPs were 426-500. There are variations out there like #60 Babe Ruth and #61 Roger Maris. I’ve heard that there is a variation Albert Pujols out there with a light colored SP back…any one heard of any others?
The chrome inserts are back…as always I am a big fan of the black chrome cards. The design jumps out at you! News flashbacks, baseball flashbacks and then & now round out the insert sets. Clubhouse collection game used cards are back…not much excitement on these. There are cards however out there part of this set that I believe have triple game used pants of Ruth Mantle and Gehrig! Finally topps included variations of a handful of base cardas that had a dice game on the back. I guess this was popular back in 1961. Anyone know how the game is played?

All in all…another fun break! We will be giving away some Heritage stuff this week when we are back with WOW Wednesday! Below are scans of most of my hits…you will see some of the cards above repeated again..enjoy!
Play Ball America!
Cesar
SOME CHROME REFRACTORS

Photobucket
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

CLUBHOUSE COLLECTION RELICS

Photobucket

http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x310/legacyny99/ExtraInnings/0225100004.jpg

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

